Nevada Public Health and Safety
Sec. § 459.512
Payment of additional fees by facility for management of hazardous waste for training emergency personnel and ensuring safety of shipment of hazardous materials; penalty for late payment.


1.

The owner or operator of a facility for the management of hazardous waste shall, in addition to any other applicable fees, pay to the Department to offset partially the cost incurred by the State Fire Marshal for training emergency personnel who respond to the scene of accidents or motor vehicle crashes involving hazardous materials a fee of $4.50 per ton of the volume received for the disposal of hazardous waste by the facility.

2.

The owner or operator of a facility for the management of hazardous waste shall, in addition to any other applicable fees, pay to the Department to offset partially the cost incurred by the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada for inspecting and otherwise ensuring the safety of any shipment of hazardous materials transported by rail car through or within this State a fee of $1.50 per ton of the volume received for the disposal of hazardous waste by the facility.

3.

The operator of such a facility shall pay the fees provided in this section, based upon the volume of hazardous waste received by the facility during each quarter of the calendar year, within 30 days after the end of each quarter. The Department may assess and collect a penalty of 2 percent of the unpaid balance for each month, or portion thereof, that the fee remains due.
Source
Last accessed
Sep. 20, 2019