Antique vehicle: “Horseless Carriage.”
1.The Department may issue special motor vehicle license plates from year to year to a person who has resided in the State of Nevada for a period of 6 months preceding the date of application for the license plates and who owns a motor vehicle which is a model manufactured during or before 1915.
2.To administer the provisions of this section, the Department may recognize the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada as presently constituted as the official Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada and to designate and appoint one member of the Board of Directors of the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada to act as and be an ex officio deputy of the Department and to perform the duties and functions prescribed by this section without compensation, per diem allowance or travel expenses.
3.An applicant for license plates pursuant to the provisions of this section must:
(a)Fill out and sign an application for license plates on a form prescribed and furnished by the ex officio deputy for licensing antique motor vehicles.
(b)Present evidence of the applicant’s eligibility for license plates by showing, to the satisfaction of the ex officio deputy, residence in this State for 6 months preceding the date of application and ownership of an antique motor vehicle which is a model manufactured during or before 1915.
(c)Present a certificate of inspection issued by a committee, or member thereof, appointed by the Board of Directors of the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada verifying that the antique motor vehicle is in safe and satisfactory mechanical condition, is in good condition and state of repair, is well equipped and is covered by a policy of insurance covering public liability and property damage written by an insurance company qualified to do business in this State with limits of not less than $10,000 for each person nor less than $20,000 for each crash, and not less than $5,000 for property damage and which otherwise meets the requirements of chapter 485 of NRS.
(d)Exhibit a valid driver’s license authorizing the applicant to drive a motor vehicle on the highways of this State.
(e)Pay the fee prescribed by the laws of this State for the operation of a passenger car, without regard to the weight or the capacity for passengers.
(f)Pay such other fee as prescribed by the Board of Directors of the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada necessary to defray all cost of manufacture, transportation and issuance of the special license plates.
4.The ex officio deputy for licensing antique motor vehicles shall each calendar year issue license plates, approved by the Department, for each motor vehicle owned by an applicant who meets the requirements of subsection 3, subject to the following conditions:
(a)The license plates must be numbered and issued consecutively each year beginning with “Horseless Carriage 1.”
(b)The license plates must conform, as nearly as possible, to the color and type of license plate issued in this State for regular passenger cars.
(c)The special license plates issued pursuant to this section must be specified, procured, transported and issued solely at the expense and cost of the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada and without any expense to the State of Nevada.
5.The ex officio deputy for licensing antique motor vehicles shall pay quarterly to the Department the prescribed fee as provided in paragraph (e) of subsection 3. The fees so received must be used, disbursed or deposited by the Department in the same manner as provided by law for other fees for registration and licensing. All other fees collected to defray expenses must be retained by the Board of Directors of the Horseless Carriage Club of Nevada.
6.The license plates obtained pursuant to this section are in lieu of the license plates otherwise provided for in this chapter and are valid for the calendar year in which they are issued.
7.The Department shall charge and collect the following fees for the issuance of these license plates, which fees are in addition to all other license fees and applicable taxes:
(a)For the first issuance.............................................................................................. $35
(b)For a renewal sticker................................................................................................. 10
Section 482.380 — Antique vehicle: “Horseless Carriage.”,