NRS 445B.200
Creation and composition

  • Chair
  • quorum
  • compensation of members and employees
  • disqualification
  • technical support.


The State Environmental Commission is hereby created within the Department. The Commission consists of:


The Director of the Department of Wildlife;


The State Forester Firewarden;


The State Engineer;


The Director of the State Department of Agriculture;


The Administrator of the Division of Minerals of the Commission on Mineral Resources;


A member of the State Board of Health to be designated by that Board; and


Five members appointed by the Governor:


One of whom is a general engineering contractor or a general building contractor licensed pursuant to chapter 624 of NRS;


One of whom possesses expertise in performing mining reclamation; and


One of whom possesses experience and expertise in advocating issues relating to conservation.


The Governor shall appoint the Chair of the Commission from among the members of the Commission.


A majority of the members constitutes a quorum, and a majority of those present must concur in any decision.


Each member who is appointed by the Governor is entitled to receive a salary of not more than $80, as fixed by the Commission, for each day’s attendance at a meeting of the Commission.


While engaged in the business of the Commission, each member and employee of the Commission is entitled to receive the per diem allowance and travel expenses provided for state officers and employees generally.


Any person who receives or has received during the previous 2 years a significant portion of his or her income, as defined by any applicable state or federal law, directly or indirectly from one or more holders of or applicants for a permit required by NRS 445A.300 to 445A.730, inclusive, is disqualified from serving as a member of the Commission. The provisions of this subsection do not apply to any person who receives, or has received during the previous 2 years, a significant portion of his or her income from any department or agency of State Government which is a holder of or an applicant for a permit required by NRS 445A.300 to 445A.730, inclusive.


The Department shall provide technical advice, support and assistance to the Commission. All state officers, departments, commissions and agencies, including the Department of Transportation, the Department of Health and Human Services, the Nevada System of Higher Education, the State Public Works Board, the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Department of Public Safety, the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada, the Nevada Transportation Authority and the State Department of Agriculture may also provide technical advice, support and assistance to the Commission.

Source: Section 445B.200 — Creation and composition; Chair; quorum; compensation of members and employees; disqualification; technical support., https://www.­leg.­state.­nv.­us/NRS/NRS-445B.­html#NRS445BSec200.

Last Updated

Jun. 24, 2021

§ 445B.200’s source at nv​.us