NRS 225.240

  • composition
  • officers
  • staff
  • term of members
  • vacancies
  • allowances.


The Advisory Committee on Participatory Democracy is hereby created within the Office of the Secretary of State.


The Advisory Committee consists of not more than 10 members including:


The Secretary of State or his or her designee; and


Not more than nine other members appointed by the Secretary of State.


The Secretary of State shall:


Consider political, geographical and demographical factors when appointing members of the Advisory Committee;


Select the Chair of the Advisory Committee from among its members; and


Designate an employee of the Office of the Secretary of State to serve as Secretary for the Advisory Committee.


The Secretary of State may assign such other employees of his or her Office as he or she deems necessary to assist the Advisory Committee in its duties.


The Chair of the Advisory Committee shall appoint a Vice Chair from among the members of the Advisory Committee.


After the initial term, each member of the Advisory Committee shall serve for a term of 2 years. Each term must end on June 30 of the appropriate year. Each member of the Advisory Committee serves at the pleasure of the Secretary of State. If a vacancy occurs, the Secretary of State shall appoint a new member to fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term.


Members of the Advisory Committee serve without compensation. If sufficient money is available in the Special Account for the Support of the Advisory Committee created by NRS 225.270, members are entitled to the per diem and travel allowances provided for state officers and employees generally while attending meetings of the Advisory Committee.

Source: Section 225.240 — Creation; composition; officers; staff; term of members; vacancies; allowances., https://www.­leg.­state.­nv.­us/NRS/NRS-225.­html#NRS225Sec240.

Last Updated

Feb. 5, 2021

§ 225.240’s source at nv​.us